Kerala Assembly Elections 2021: 73 per cent voters turnout recorded till 7 pm

1 week ago 7

Thiruvananthapuram: At slightest 73.58 per cent of the full 2.74 crore voters exercised their franchise for the authorities assembly elections according to a preliminary appraisal erstwhile polling drew to a adjacent astatine 7 p.m. successful Kerala connected Tuesday, the Election Commission of India said.

The monolithic workout pursuing COVID-19 wellness protocol involving implicit 2 lakh polling officers began astatine 7 AM and the past hr from 6 PM to 7 PM was acceptable speech for COVID-19 patients and those nether isolation.

The ECI said 73.69 per cent of antheral voters, 73.48 per cent of pistillate voters and 37.37 per cent of transgender voters exercised their franchise arsenic per the preliminary appraisal till 6.55 PM.

The authorities witnessed monolithic turnout till day but incessant rainfall successful cardinal Kerala reduced the footfall later.

Polling was held for 140 assembly constituencies of Kerala crossed 40,771 polling stations successful the state.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan (Dharmadam), person of absorption successful the authorities assembly Ramesh Chennithala (Haripad), elder Congress person Oommen Chandy (Puthupally), BJP authorities president, K Surendran (Konni and Manjeswaram) and 'Metro Man' E Sreedharan, (Palakkad) were among those who had voted.

Besides Vijayan, 11 of his furniture colleagues are among the 957 candidates successful the fray.

The 2016 Assembly elections saw 77.53 per cent elector turnout, portion the Lok Sabha polls successful 2019 saw a information of 77.84 per cent electors.

Local assemblage polls successful 2020 saw a elector turnout of 76.2 per cent.

Read Entire Article